As of 01 Nov 2026 09:05 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/059 (10 Nov 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Propranolol 80mg modified release capsulesaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | July 2026precision: a month · window end 31 Jul 2026, derived from “July 2026” | update of 05 Mar 2026 |
| Propranolol 160mg modified release capsulesaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | July 2026precision: a month · window end 31 Jul 2026, derived from “July 2026” | update of 05 Mar 2026 |
| Propranolol 40mg and 80mg tablets (immediate release)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 10 Nov 2025 |
| Propranolol oral solutionnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 10 Nov 2025 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Propranolol 40mg and 80mg tablets (immediate release) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Propranolol oral solution — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Propranolol
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (chemical name), confidence 0.85 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
One supply notification on record, 10 Nov 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 Nov 2025 | Medicine Supply Notification: Propranolol 80mg and 160mg modified release capsules - Updated | Notification update | Tier 2 | MSN/2025/059 |
Also recorded under
No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2025)49 Propranolol 80mg and 160mg modified release capsules · issued 13 Nov 2025 · valid until early March 2026, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗