Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (15 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Rivastigmine

As of 05 Nov 2026 18:54 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England notice (updated)MSN/2025/062 Tier 3 · issued 03 Dec 2025 (337 days ago) · last statement 04 Jun 2026
Expected backw/c late September 2026 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (30 days)window end 06 Oct 2026, derived from “w/c late September 2026”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2026)18 issued 12 Jun 2026 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/062 (03 Dec 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Alzest transdermal patches (Dr Reddy’s Laboratories (UK) Ltd) in all strengthsaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this lineupdate of 08 Jan 2026
Rivastigmine 4.6mg/24hours and 9.5mg/24hours transdermal patchesaffected product · inferred from phrasingLimited supply, as statedw/c late September 2026precision: a stated week · window end 06 Oct 2026, derived from “w/c late September 2026”notice of 03 Dec 2025
Rivastigmine 13.3mg/24hours transdermal patchesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Dec 2025
Rivastigmine (Zeyzelf) twice weekly 4.6 mg/24hours transdermal patchnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Dec 2025
Rivastigmine (Zeyzelf) twice weekly 9.5 mg/24hours transdermal patchnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Dec 2025
Unlicensed supplies of rivastigmine 4.6mg/24hours and 9.5mg/24hours transdermal patchesunlicensed import named by the source · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Dec 2025
Alternative formulations of acetylcholinesterase (AChE) inhibitorsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available⚠ the source line states more than one status — first stated shown— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Dec 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Rivastigmine 13.3mg/24hours transdermal patches — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Rivastigmine (Zeyzelf) twice weekly 4.6 mg/24hours transdermal patch — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Rivastigmine (Zeyzelf) twice weekly 9.5 mg/24hours transdermal patch — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Unlicensed supplies of rivastigmine 4.6mg/24hours and 9.5mg/24hours transdermal patches — unlicensed import named by the source (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Rivastigmine

Also known as
Almuriva 13.3mg/24hours transdermal patches · Almuriva 4.6mg/24hours transdermal patches · Almuriva 9.5mg/24hours transdermal patches · Alzakt 4.6mg/24hours transdermal patches · Alzakt 9.5mg/24hours transdermal patches · Alzest 13.3mg/24hours transdermal patches · +41 more
BNF chemical
Rivastigmine 0411000E0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Dementia · Drugs for dementia · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
12234911000001107, 12235211000001102, 12315111000001105, 12315211000001104, 19676111000001106 and 116 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Advanz Pharma · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Aspire Pharma Ltd · Bristol Laboratories Ltd · +16 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 03 Dec 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
03 Dec 2025Medicine Supply Notification: Rivastigmine 4.6mg/24hours and 9.5mg/24hours transdermal patches – updatedNotification updateTier 3MSN/2025/062

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
10 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-rivastigmine-4-6mg-24hours-and-9-5mg-24hours-transdermal-patches/ · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.