As of 06 Nov 2026 11:38 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2022/025 (16 Mar 2022): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Timolol (Tiopex®) 1mg/g gel eye drops 0.4g unit dose preservative freeaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | late March 2022precision: late in the month · window end 31 Mar 2022, derived from “late March 2022” | notice of 16 Mar 2022 |
| Alternative strengths of timolol (Eysano®) 2.5mg/ml and 5mg/ml preservative free eye drops in multi-dose bottlesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 16 Mar 2022 |
| Timolol 2.5mg/ml and 5mg/ml eye drops containing a preservative alsonamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 16 Mar 2022 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Alternative strengths of timolol (Eysano®) 2.5mg/ml and 5mg/ml preservative free eye drops in multi-dose bottles — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Timolol 2.5mg/ml and 5mg/ml eye drops containing a preservative also — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Timolol
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026. chemical 'Timolol' appears under 2 BNF codes; 1106000Z0 (most presentations) taken.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
One supply notification on record, 16 Mar 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 16 Mar 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Timolol (Tiopex® ) 1mg/g gel eye drops 0.4g unit dose preservative free | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2022/025 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: tiopex. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2025)56 Latanoprost 50micrograms/ml / Timolol 5mg/ml (Fixapost®) eye drops 0.2ml · issued 24 Dec 2025 · valid until early February 2026, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2021)32 Latanoprost 50microgram/ml / timolol 5mg/ml (Fixapost®) 0.2ml unit dose · issued 08 Nov 2021 · valid until Mid November 2021, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗