Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Triamcinolone Acetonide

As of 06 Nov 2026 13:46 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2025/021 Tier 2 · issued 07 Apr 2025 (578 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2025)16 issued 11 Apr 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/021 (07 Apr 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Triamcinolone acetonide 10mg/ml (Adcortyl® multi-dose vial) and 40mg/ml (Kenalog® vials) suspension for injectionaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 07 Apr 2025
Dexamethasone sodium phosphate 3.3mg/ml and 3.8mg/ml injectionsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 07 Apr 2025
Hydrocortisone sodium succinate 100mg powder for solution for injectionnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 07 Apr 2025
Methylprednisolone sodium succinate (Solu-Medrone®) 500mg and 1g injection and methylprednisolone acetate (Depo-Medrone®) 40mg/ml injectionnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 07 Apr 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Dexamethasone sodium phosphate 3.3mg/ml and 3.8mg/ml injections — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Hydrocortisone sodium succinate 100mg powder for solution for injection — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Methylprednisolone sodium succinate (Solu-Medrone®) 500mg and 1g injection and methylprednisolone acetate (Depo-Medrone®) 40mg/ml injection — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Triamcinolone Acetonide

Also known as
Adcortyl Intra-articular / Intradermal 10mg/1ml inj ampoules · Adcortyl Intra-articular / Intradermal 50mg/5ml inj vials · Kenalog Intra-articular / Intramuscular 40mg/1ml inj vials · Triamcinolone acetonide 10mg/1ml inj ampoules · Triamcinolone acetonide 40mg/1ml inj vials · Triamcinolone acetonide 50mg/5ml inj vials
BNF chemical
Triamcinolone acetonide 1001022U0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Corticosteroids · Drugs used in rheumatic diseases and gout · Musculoskeletal and Joint Diseases
SNOMED codes
306011000001103, 35921511000001102, 35921711000001107, 35921811000001104, 42991511000001109 and 3 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Imported (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-triamcinolone-acetonide-10mg-ml-adcortyl-ampoules-and-40mg-ml-kenalog-vials-suspension-for-injection · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.