Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (15 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Venlafaxine

As of 05 Nov 2026 09:09 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2026/040 Tier 2 · issued 26 Aug 2026 (71 days ago)
Expected backNovember 2026 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated window ends this monthwindow end 30 Nov 2026, derived from “November 2026”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol in force; 1 expired on this record (below)
ScotlandMSAN(2026)29 issued 28 Aug 2026 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2026/040 (26 Aug 2026): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Venlafaxine 75mg immediate release (IR) tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedNovember 2026precision: a month · window end 30 Nov 2026, derived from “November 2026”notice of 26 Aug 2026
Venlafaxine 150mg modified release (MR) capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 26 Aug 2026
Venlafaxine 37.5mg and 75mg MR capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; can support only a partial uplift— not stated for this linenotice of 26 Aug 2026
Venlafaxine 75mg MR tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; can support only a partial uplift— not stated for this linenotice of 26 Aug 2026
Venlafaxine 37.5mg IR tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 26 Aug 2026
Venlafaxine 37.5mg,150mg, 225mg and 300mg MR tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 26 Aug 2026
Venlafaxine 225mg and 300mg MR capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 26 Aug 2026
Venlafaxine 37.5mg/5ml and 75mg/5ml oral solutionsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 26 Aug 2026

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register — 1 earlier protocol on this record has expired: SSP083 (to 01 Aug 2025). Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Venlafaxine 150mg modified release (MR) capsules — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Venlafaxine 37.5mg and 75mg MR capsules — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Venlafaxine 75mg MR tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Venlafaxine 37.5mg IR tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Venlafaxine 37.5mg,150mg, 225mg and 300mg MR tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Venlafaxine 225mg and 300mg MR capsules — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Venlafaxine 37.5mg/5ml and 75mg/5ml oral solutions — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Venlafaxine

Also known as
Alventa XL 150mg capsules · Alventa XL 75mg capsules · Amphero XL 150mg capsules · Amphero XL 75mg capsules · Apclaven XL 150mg capsules · Apclaven XL 37.5mg capsules · +94 more
BNF chemical
Venlafaxine 0403040W0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Other antidepressant drugs · Antidepressant drugs · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
13461911000001105, 13467111000001100, 13986111000001104, 13986411000001109, 13995311000001106 and 172 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Advanz Pharma · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Almus Pharmaceuticals Ltd · +33 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2025 — a recurring shortage spanning 1.2 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
26 Aug 2026Medicine Supply Notification: Venlafaxine 75mg immediate-release tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2026/040
13 Jun 2025Medicine Supply Notification: Venlafaxine 37.5mg modified-release tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2025/035

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
26 Aug 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-venlafaxine-75mg-immediate-release-tablets/ · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.