Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Fentanyl

As of 06 Nov 2026 10:52 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2025/025 Tier 2 · issued 30 Apr 2025 (555 days ago)
Expected backlate May 2025 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — a later statement is recordedwindow end 31 May 2025, derived from “late May 2025”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2025)20 issued 07 May 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/025 (30 Apr 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Effentora® 200microgram, 400microgram, 600microgram, 800microgram buccal tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedlate May 2025precision: late in the month · window end 31 May 2025, derived from “late May 2025”notice of 30 Apr 2025
Effentora® 100microgram buccal tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 30 Apr 2025
Actiq® 800microgram lozengesaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedto be confirmed, as statednotice of 30 Apr 2025
Actiq® 200microgram, 400microgram, 600microgram, 1.2mg, 1.6mg lozengesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 30 Apr 2025
Alternative immediate-release fentanyl productsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 30 Apr 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Effentora® 100microgram buccal tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Actiq® 200microgram, 400microgram, 600microgram, 1.2mg, 1.6mg lozenges — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Fentanyl

Also known as
Abstral 100microgram sublingual tablets · Abstral 200microgram sublingual tablets · Abstral 300microgram sublingual tablets · Abstral 400microgram sublingual tablets · Abstral 600microgram sublingual tablets · Abstral 800microgram sublingual tablets · +153 more
BNF chemical
Fentanyl 0407020A0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Opioid analgesics · Analgesics · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
10724711000001109, 10724911000001106, 10725111000001107, 10725311000001109, 11084511000001104 and 166 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
Accord-UK Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Fontus Health Ltd · Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Europe Ltd · Grunenthal Ltd · Janssen-Cilag Ltd · +12 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 3 times on record since 2022 — a recurring shortage spanning 2.5 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: durogesic dtrans, effentora. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-fentanyl-effentora-200microgram-400microgram-600microgram-800microgram-buccal-tablets-fentanyl-actiq-800microgram-lozenges · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.