As of 05 Nov 2026 12:44 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2021/068 (14 Dec 2021): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depo-Medrone® 40mg/ml vialsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | late February 2022precision: late in the month · window end 28 Feb 2022, derived from “late February 2022” | notice of 14 Dec 2021 |
| Depo-Medrone® 80mg/2ml and 120mg/3ml vialsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 14 Dec 2021 |
| Depo-Medrone® with lidocaine 1% 40mg/ml vialsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | early February 2022precision: early in the month · window end 10 Feb 2022, derived from “early February 2022” | notice of 14 Dec 2021 |
| 80mg/2ml vialsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | late February 2022precision: late in the month · window end 28 Feb 2022, derived from “late February 2022” | notice of 14 Dec 2021 |
| Lidocaine 1% injectionnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page → | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 14 Dec 2021 |
| Alternative licensed injectable steroids alsoclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 14 Dec 2021 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Depo-Medrone® 80mg/2ml and 120mg/3ml vials — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Lidocaine 1% injection — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Methylprednisolone Acetate
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Sep 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
One supply notification on record, 14 Dec 2021. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 14 Dec 2021 | Medicine Supply Notification: Methylprednisolone acetate (Depo-Medrone® ) 40mg/ml vials and methylprednisolone acetate (Depo-Medrone® ) with lidocaine 1% 40mg/ml and 80mg/2ml vials | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2021/068 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: depo-medrone. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.