Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Nifedipine

As of 06 Nov 2026 12:07 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2026/033 Tier 2 · issued 23 Jul 2026 (106 days ago)
Expected backlate November 2026 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated window ends this monthwindow end 30 Nov 2026, derived from “late November 2026”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol in force; 2 expired on this record (below)
ScotlandMSAN(2026)25 issued 24 Jul 2026 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2026/033 (23 Jul 2026): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Tensipine® MR 10 and 20 tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedto be confirmed, as statednotice of 23 Jul 2026
Adalat® LA 30 tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedlate November 2026precision: late in the month · window end 30 Nov 2026, derived from “late November 2026”notice of 23 Jul 2026
Adanif® XL 30mg and 60mg tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 23 Jul 2026
Alternative brands of nifedipine modified-release tabletsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 23 Jul 2026
Coracten® SR 10mg and 20mg capsules, and Coracten® XL 30mg and 60mg capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 23 Jul 2026

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register — 2 earlier protocols on this record have expired: SSP085 (to 06 Feb 2026), SSP084 (to 06 Feb 2026). Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Coracten® SR 10mg and 20mg capsules, and Coracten® XL 30mg and 60mg capsules — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Nifedipine

Also known as
Adalat 10mg capsules · Adalat 5mg capsules · Adalat LA 20mg tablets · Adalat LA 30mg tablets · Adalat LA 60mg tablets · Adalat retard 10mg tablets · +73 more
BNF chemical
Nifedipine 0206020R0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Calcium-channel blockers · Nitrates, calcium-channel blockers & other antianginal drugs · Cardiovascular System
SNOMED codes
10189111000001106, 10189311000001108, 10751211000001100, 10751411000001101, 12281311000001104 and 120 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Advanz Pharma · Ashbourne Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Bayer Plc · Chiesi Ltd · +24 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 3 times on record since 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: adipine xl, fortipine la. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
23 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-nifedipine-10mg-20mg-30mg-and-60mg-modified-release-tablets/ · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.