Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Salbutamol

As of 06 Nov 2026 13:32 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2025/041 Tier 2 · issued 04 Jul 2025 (490 days ago)
Expected backmid-September 2025 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (412 days)window end 20 Sep 2025, derived from “mid-September 2025”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2025)33 issued 11 Jul 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/041 (04 Jul 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Salbutamol (Salamol Easi-Breathe®) 100micrograms/dose breath actuated inhaler CFC freeaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedmid-September 2025precision: mid-month · window end 20 Sep 2025, derived from “mid-September 2025”notice of 04 Jul 2025
Salbutamol (Airomir®) 100micrograms/dose breath actuated inhaler CFC freeaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 04 Jul 2025
Salbutamol (Salamol®) 100micrograms/dose inhaler CFC free pressurised metered-dose inhaler (pMDIs)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 04 Jul 2025
Salbutamol (Easyhaler®) 100micrograms/dose dry powder inhaler (DPI)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 04 Jul 2025
Salbutamol (Ventolin Evohaler®) 100microgram/dose inhaler CFC free pMDI and salbutamol (Salbulin Novolizer®) 100micrograms/dose inhalation powdernamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 04 Jul 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Salbutamol (Salamol®) 100micrograms/dose inhaler CFC free pressurised metered-dose inhaler (pMDIs) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Salbutamol (Easyhaler®) 100micrograms/dose dry powder inhaler (DPI) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Salbutamol (Ventolin Evohaler®) 100microgram/dose inhaler CFC free pMDI and salbutamol (Salbulin Novolizer®) 100micrograms/dose inhalation powder — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Salbutamol

Also known as
Aerolin 100micrograms/dose Autohaler · Airomir 100micrograms/dose Autohaler · Airomir 100micrograms/dose inhaler · AirSalb 100micrograms/dose inhaler CFC free · Asmasal 95micrograms/dose Clickhaler · Asmavent 100micrograms/dose inhaler CFC free · +69 more
BNF chemical
Salbutamol 0301011R0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Adrenoceptor agonists · Bronchodilators · Respiratory System
SNOMED codes
10432311000001108, 10453811000001108, 10454011000001100, 106511000001103, 11006511000001106 and 136 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
3M Health Care Ltd · A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Approved Prescription Services Ltd · +20 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 5 times on record since 2024 — a recurring shortage spanning 1.4 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: salamol. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-salbutamol-100micrograms-dose-breath-actuated-inhalers-cfc-free · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.