National Patient Safety Alert · MSN/2024/028
National Patient Safety Alert DHSC: Shortage of salbutamol 2.5mg/2.5ml and 5mg/2.5ml nebuliser liquid unit dose vials - Updated
MSN/2024/028 issued 26 Feb 2024
Presentations, as stated
Each product line re-expressed as the product named, the status the source stated and its expected-back phrase kept as written — not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock. Roles are inferred from phrasing.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Terbutaline, salbutamol with ipratropium, and ipratropium nebuliser liquidsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 26 Feb 2024MSN/2024/028 |
| Ventolin® (salbutamol) 5mg/ml nebuliser liquid (20ml)affected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated⚠ the source line states more than one status — first stated shown | mid-April 2024precision: mid-month · window end 20 Apr 2024, derived from “mid-April 2024” | notice of 26 Feb 2024MSN/2024/028 |
| Unlicensed imports of salbutamol nebuliser liquidunlicensed import named by the source · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 26 Feb 2024MSN/2024/028 |
| Salbutamol 2.5mg/2.5ml nebulesaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Limited supply, as stated | late June 2024precision: late in the month · window end 30 Jun 2024, derived from “late June 2024” | notice of 06 Mar 2024MSN/2024/028 |
| Salbutamol 5mg/2.5ml nebulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 06 Mar 2024MSN/2024/028 |
| Alternative beta2-agonists for nebulisation and intravenous administrationclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 06 Mar 2024MSN/2024/028 |
Expected-back revisions
The return date this notice gave, each time we recorded it change — the slip, kept. Expected-back dates move constantly; here is the real track record.
- 13 Mar 2024Expected back late June 2024current
- 27 Mar 2024Expected back mid-April 2024current
What changed
- 26 Feb 2024National Patient Safety Alert issuedsource post
- 26 Feb 2024Expected backsource post
- 06 Mar 2024Supply notification issuedsource post
- 06 Mar 2024Expected backsource post
Provenance
Where this record's bytes came from and when they entered the record. The same fields ship with every API record (/api), so a citation can be checked against the capture. Internet-Archive recoveries are dated by the Archive's capture, never ours.
post:f92ef69168a7Medicine Supply Notification: Salbutamol 2.5mg/2.5ml nebuliser liquid unit dose vials
- Recorded
- 13 Mar 2024 18:19 UTC (Internet Archive capture)the earliest capture we hold is the Internet Archive's, not first-hand
- Capture route
- Recovered from the Internet Archive — not first-hand capture
- Read from
- Community Pharmacy England post (DHSC notification as relayed)
- Captured at
- 13 Mar 2024 18:19 UTC
- Content hash
b3b23d5612ce00bbe2010c081bdd342db038216bf38840347544b1b0c033ebdbsha256 of the captured bytes — proves what was captured, not that the source was correct- Source document
- https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-salbutamol-2-5mg-2-5ml-nebuliser-liquid-unit-dose-vials ↗
- Archive capture
- https://web.archive.org/web/20240313181901id_/https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-salbutamol-2-5mg-2-5ml-nebuliser-liquid-unit-dose-vials ↗
- Parser version
- 3
- Source anomalies
- multiple statuses on one line (['available_no_uplift', 'available']) — recorded 'available_no_uplift' (source line omitted; see the source document)
- multiple statuses on one line (['available_no_uplift', 'available']) — recorded 'available_no_uplift' (source line omitted; see the source document)
as recorded by the parser about the source as captured — flagged, never corrected
post:d5d7c4f636a8National Patient Safety Alert DHSC: Shortage of salbutamol 2.5mg/2.5ml and 5mg/2.5ml nebuliser liquid unit dose vials - Updated
- Recorded
- 27 Mar 2024 02:09 UTC (Internet Archive capture)the earliest capture we hold is the Internet Archive's, not first-hand
- Capture route
- Recovered from the Internet Archive — not first-hand capture
- Read from
- Community Pharmacy England post (DHSC notification as relayed)
- Captured at
- 27 Mar 2024 02:09 UTC
- Content hash
cff593c2f6182c87f4d41b50ee86b5c39ef692d53cc667b25c555d8f42d4a27esha256 of the captured bytes — proves what was captured, not that the source was correct- Source document
- https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/national-patient-safety-alert-dhsc-shortage-of-salbutamol-2-5mg-2-5ml-and-5mg-2-5ml-nebuliser-liquid-unit-dose-vials ↗
- Archive capture
- https://web.archive.org/web/20240327020939id_/https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/national-patient-safety-alert-dhsc-shortage-of-salbutamol-2-5mg-2-5ml-and-5mg-2-5ml-nebuliser-liquid-unit-dose-vials ↗
- Parser version
- 3
- Source anomalies
- multiple statuses on one line (['available_no_uplift', 'available']) — recorded 'available_no_uplift' (source line omitted; see the source document)
- multiple statuses on one line (['out_of_stock', 'available_no_uplift']) — recorded 'out_of_stock' (source line omitted; see the source document)
as recorded by the parser about the source as captured — flagged, never corrected
This reference appears on 2 records in the archive (an original notification and its updates) — all shown together above.
Dates are as stated in the source documents. Fuzzy source dates are kept fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber.