Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Somatropin

As of 06 Nov 2026 14:52 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/064 Tier 2 · issued 29 May 2024 (891 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2025)58 issued 30 Dec 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/064 (29 May 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Somatropin (NutropinAq®) 10mg/2ml solution for injection cartridgesaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 29 May 2024
Somatropin (Humatrope®) 6mg, 12mg and 24mg powder and solvent for solution for injection cartridgesaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 29 May 2024
Other brands of somatropinclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 29 May 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

The latest recorded notice names no alternative as remaining available.

Identifiers — Somatropin

Also known as
Genotropin 12mg inj cartridges · Genotropin 5.3mg inj cartridges · Genotropin GoQuick 12mg inj pre-filled pens · Genotropin GoQuick 5.3 inj pre-filled pens · Genotropin MiniQuick 1.2mg inj pre-filled disposable devices · Genotropin MiniQuick 1.4mg inj pre-filled disposable devices · +74 more
BNF chemical
Somatropin 0605010S0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Hypothalamic & anterior pituitary hormone & antioestrogens · Hypothalamic and pituitary hormones and anti, oestrogens · Endocrine System
SNOMED codes
10891711000001104, 10893811000001106, 12795111000001105, 12816811000001108, 13646611000001102 and 75 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
Eli Lilly and Company Ltd · Ferring Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Ipsen Ltd · Merck Serono Ltd · Novo Nordisk Ltd · Pfizer Ltd · +1 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)
Also recorded under
Genotropin (brand), Norditropin (brand) — same BNF chemical; separate pages, separate counts

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2023. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: genotropin miniquick, nutropinaq. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
18 Jun 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-somatropin-nutropinaq-10mg-2ml-solution-for-injection-cartridges-somatropin-humatrope-6mg-12mg-and-24mg-powder-and-solvent-for-solution-for-injection-c · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.