As of 06 Nov 2026 10:30 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/042 (10 Jul 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Diclofenac (Voltarol® Ophtha) 0.1% eye drops 0.3ml unit dose preservative freeaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | early October 2025precision: early in the month · window end 10 Oct 2025, derived from “early October 2025” | notice of 10 Jul 2025 |
| Ketorolac 0.5% eye drops, bromfenac 0.9mg/ml eye drops, and nepafenac 1mg/ml and 3mg/ml eye dropsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 10 Jul 2025 |
| Preservative free corticosteroid eye dropsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 10 Jul 2025 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Ketorolac 0.5% eye drops, bromfenac 0.9mg/ml eye drops, and nepafenac 1mg/ml and 3mg/ml eye drops — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Preservative free corticosteroid eye drops — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Diclofenac
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 2 times on record since 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 Jul 2025 | Medicine Supply Notification: Diclofenac (Voltarol® Ophtha) 0.1% eye drops 0.3ml unit dose preservative free | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2025/042 |
| 27 Nov 2024 | Medicine Supply Notification: Diclofenac (Voltarol® Ophtha Multidose) 0.1% eye drops | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2024/110 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: voltarol ophtha, voltarol ophtha multidose. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2026)26 Diclofenac (Voltarol® Ophtha) 0.1% eye drops 0.3ml unit dose preservative-free · issued 07 Aug 2026 · valid until mid-January 2027, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2025)34 Diclofenac (Voltarol® Ophtha) 0.1% eye drops 0.3ml unit dose preservative free · issued 11 Jul 2025 · valid until early October 2025, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2024)65 Diclofenac (Voltarol® Ophtha Multidose) 0.1% eye drops · issued 11 Dec 2024 · valid until mid-March 2025, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗