Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Imiquimod

As of 06 Nov 2026 13:05 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/069 Tier 2 · issued 05 Jun 2024 (884 days ago)
Expected backmid-October 2024 as stated in the latest recorded noticethe latest of 3 dates stated for this notice's lines (earliest “mid-June 2024”); 3 of 3 stated windows have passed stated date passed — no update recorded (747 days)window end 20 Oct 2024, derived from “mid-October 2024”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2024)66 issued 11 Dec 2024 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/069 (05 Jun 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Imiquimod (Aldara®) 5% creamaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedlate July 2024precision: late in the month · window end 31 Jul 2024, derived from “late July 2024”notice of 05 Jun 2024
Podophyllotoxin (Warticon®) 0.5% solutionaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedmid-June 2024precision: mid-month · window end 20 Jun 2024, derived from “mid-June 2024”notice of 05 Jun 2024
Podophyllotoxin (Warticon®) 0.15% creamaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedmid-October 2024precision: mid-month · window end 20 Oct 2024, derived from “mid-October 2024”notice of 05 Jun 2024
Imiquimod (Zyclara®) 3.75% creamnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; can support only a partial uplift— not stated for this linenotice of 05 Jun 2024
Imiquimod (Bascellex®) 50 mg/g creamnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; can support only a partial uplift— not stated for this linenotice of 05 Jun 2024
Fluorouracil (Efudix®) 5% creamnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 05 Jun 2024
Diclofenac (Solaraze®) 3% gel, fluorouracil with salicylic acid (Actikerall®) cutaneous solution and tirbanibulin (Klisyri®) ointmentnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page →Stated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 05 Jun 2024
Camellia sinensis (Catephen®) 10% ointmentnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; can support only a partial uplift— not stated for this linenotice of 05 Jun 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Imiquimod

Also known as
Aldara 5% cream 250mg sachets · Bascellex 50mg/g cream 250mg sachets · Imiquimod 3.75% cream 250mg sachets · Imiquimod 5% cream 250mg sachets · Zyclara 3.75% cream 250mg sachets
BNF chemical
Imiquimod 1307000V0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Preparations for warts and calluses · Skin
SNOMED codes
116081000001104, 21735811000001107, 35811611000001103, 4022611000001109, 4031111000001108 and 2 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
Imported · Sun Pharma UK Ltd · Viatris UK Healthcare Ltd (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2023 — a recurring shortage spanning 1.3 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: aldara. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
28 Jul 2025
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-imiquimod-aldara-5-cream-and-podophyllotoxin-warticon-0-5-solution-and-0-15-cream/?unlid=820224513202572875628 · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.