Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Isosorbide Mononitrate

As of 06 Nov 2026 13:32 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2025/047 Tier 2 · issued 24 Jul 2025 (470 days ago)
Expected backearly September 2025 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (422 days)window end 10 Sep 2025, derived from “early September 2025”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol in force; 2 expired on this record (below)
ScotlandMSAN(2025)39 issued 28 Jul 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/047 (24 Jul 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Isosorbide mononitrate 10mg immediate-release (IR) tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingLimited supply, as statedearly September 2025precision: early in the month · window end 10 Sep 2025, derived from “early September 2025”notice of 24 Jul 2025
Alternative strengths of isosorbide mononitrate IR tabletsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 24 Jul 2025
Isosorbide mononitrate modified-release (MR) tablets and capsules (available in strengths of 25mg, 40mg, 50mg and 60mg)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 24 Jul 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register — 2 earlier protocols on this record have expired: SSP075 (to 17 Jan 2025), SSP059 (to 07 Jun 2024). Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Isosorbide mononitrate modified-release (MR) tablets and capsules (available in strengths of 25mg, 40mg, 50mg and 60mg) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Isosorbide Mononitrate

Also known as
Angeze 10 tablets · Angeze 20 tablets · Carmil 20mg tablets · Carmil 40mg tablets · Carmil XL 60mg tablets (Milpharm) · Carmil XL 60mg tablets (Mylan) · +79 more
BNF chemical
Isosorbide mononitrate 0206010K0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Nitrates · Nitrates, calcium-channel blockers & other antianginal drugs · Cardiovascular System
SNOMED codes
101111000001103, 10384311000001101, 10384611000001106, 10385111000001104, 10975511000001109 and 163 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Advanz Pharma · Alliance Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Almus Pharmaceuticals Ltd · +40 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 5 times on record since 2024 — a recurring shortage spanning 1.6 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: monomil xl. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-isosorbide-mononitrate-10mg-tablets-immediate-release · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.