Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (14 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← Shortage register

Medicine Supply Notification · MSN/2023/016

Medicine Supply Notification: Medroxyprogesterone (Provera® ) 2.5mg tablets

MSN/2023/016 Tier 3 · high · issued 15 Feb 2023

Medroxyprogesterone has been notified short 2 times since 2022 — see the full history →
Reference
MSN/2023/016
Kind
Medicine Supply Notification
Issued
15 Feb 2023
Expected back
mid-March 2023 as stated by the source — kept fuzzy
Recorded changes
2
Source
Announcement post ↗
Recovered from the Internet Archive · archived 16 Oct 2023 — not first-hand capture, dated by its own stated issue date (see methodology).

Presentations, as stated

Each product line re-expressed as the product named, the status the source stated and its expected-back phrase kept as written — not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock. Roles are inferred from phrasing.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Medroxyprogesterone (Provera®) 2.5mg tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedmid-March 2023precision: mid-month · window end 20 Mar 2023, derived from “mid-March 2023”notice of 15 Feb 2023MSN/2023/016
Meptazinol (Meptid®) 200mg film-coated tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedlate June 2023precision: late in the month · window end 30 Jun 2023, derived from “late June 2023”notice of 15 Feb 2023MSN/2023/016
Medroxyprogesterone (Provera®) 5mg and 10mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 15 Feb 2023MSN/2023/016
Alternative analgesic products including non-opioidsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 15 Feb 2023MSN/2023/016
Norethisterone 5mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page →Stated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 15 Feb 2023MSN/2023/016

Expected-back revisions

The return date this notice gave, each time we recorded it change — the slip, kept. Expected-back dates move constantly; here is the real track record.

  1. 16 Oct 2023Expected back mid-March 2023current
  2. 20 Apr 2024Expected back late June 2023current

What changed

  1. 15 Feb 2023Supply notification issuedsource post
  2. 15 Feb 2023Supply notification issuedsource post
  3. 15 Feb 2023Expected backsource post
  4. 15 Feb 2023Expected backsource post

Provenance

Where this record's bytes came from and when they entered the record. The same fields ship with every API record (/api), so a citation can be checked against the capture. Internet-Archive recoveries are dated by the Archive's capture, never ours.

post:7c56295ddab9Medicine Supply Notification: Medroxyprogesterone (Provera® ) 2.5mg tablets

Recorded
16 Oct 2023 18:55 UTC (Internet Archive capture)
the earliest capture we hold is the Internet Archive's, not first-hand
Capture route
Recovered from the Internet Archive — not first-hand capture
Read from
Community Pharmacy England post (DHSC notification as relayed)
Captured at
16 Oct 2023 18:55 UTC
Content hash
996613f26f68faf96e5d62008b9fec9e357449c53d3c605afdce79136bc71df6
sha256 of the captured bytes — proves what was captured, not that the source was correct
Source document
http://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-medroxyprogesterone-provera-2-5mg-tablets ↗
Archive capture
https://web.archive.org/web/20231016185548id_/http://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-medroxyprogesterone-provera-2-5mg-tablets ↗
Parser version
3
Source anomalies
  • multiple statuses on one line (['available_no_uplift', 'available']) — recorded 'available_no_uplift' (source line omitted; see the source document)
as recorded by the parser about the source as captured — flagged, never corrected

post:911048e82310Medicine Supply Notification: Meptazinol (Meptid® ) 200mg film-coated tablets

Recorded
20 Apr 2024 00:14 UTC (Internet Archive capture)
the earliest capture we hold is the Internet Archive's, not first-hand
Capture route
Recovered from the Internet Archive — not first-hand capture
Read from
Community Pharmacy England post (DHSC notification as relayed)
Captured at
20 Apr 2024 00:14 UTC
Content hash
e8d726a0137e43379f6b65b77b43086c72d858355d8000a5c44e3e20d85a368b
sha256 of the captured bytes — proves what was captured, not that the source was correct
Source document
https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-meptazinol-meptid-200mg-film-coated-tablets ↗
Archive capture
https://web.archive.org/web/20240420001411id_/https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-meptazinol-meptid-200mg-film-coated-tablets ↗
Parser version
3
Subscribe to changes feed · calendar · site RSS · email
  • Atom Feed for MedroxyprogesteronePaste this address into a feed reader (Outlook, Thunderbird, Feedly…): https://shortagesignal.co.uk/medicine/medroxyprogesterone/feed.xml
  • Calendar Stated expected-back windows for MedroxyprogesteroneAdd it to your calendar app as a subscription by URL and paste https://shortagesignal.co.uk/medicine/medroxyprogesterone/expected.ics. Per the vendors' own help pages: Outlook on the web— Calendar → Add calendar → Subscribe from web (Microsoft says a subscribed calendar “can sometimes take more than 24 hours” to refresh); Google Calendar— Other calendars → Add other calendars → From URL. Refresh timing is the calendar app's, not ours.
  • RSS The newest 50 recorded changes, site-wide · weekly digest (feed)
  • Email Email alerts are not yet sending.Leave your address and we'll send a confirmation link when alerts launch — nothing is sent until then, and nothing after unless you click it.

Feeds and calendars follow our twice-daily scheduled checks of the sources — they are not live. See privacy for what a sign-up stores.

This reference appears on 2 records in the archive (an original notification and its updates) — all shown together above.

Dates are as stated in the source documents. Fuzzy source dates are kept fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber.